MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is my summary report, keep in mind I'm not a mechanic and I'm little to nothing in electronics...

The car is a light blue 1991 Turbo, manufactured 1990 in Japan (slow import route, passing US, then germany then finally Italy), around 100k miles, seems original, no downing done on the odometer...

Well, the chassis seems straight, no major dings: no signs over the suspension attachments, either 4 plates are ok, no visible rust either or cracks all over the visible chassis /exteriors.The rubber of the T Tops seems quite soft, and even if I didn't put water on the roof, it seems to me that it could be in good sealing condition.Interiors are quite mint, some major wear on driver side seat (no cuts) , the rest of the plastics are ok, it still has the 1991 radio cd cassette unit, with the power antenna working.Both frunk and trunk are mint, no signs of any big usage or scraches around of any type...

The "declared" mechanical problems, verified as presents:

- Brake discs are ovalized, vibrating badly as you even gently push pedal
- wheel bearing of the rear right wheel is shot, making a damn TRUM TRUM TRUM noise
- the engine "swear" oil moisture from the top, on the valve cover, but it doesn't seems to do it on other spots (no head leaks, but I couldn't check the underside of the engine, so I suspect some lower leak to be there...as usual on mr2's or celicas's 3SGTE bottom ends are quite leaky afaik....)

The real problems I found out checking:
temperature needle stayed on C, no rising, but some slightly hot coming from air vents in the dash...bad thermostat I think...
Check light was ON on powering the car before cranking, code checked AFTER THE RUN it put out :

12)RPM Signal 21)Lambda 34)Fuel Cut Prex Turbo 43)Starter Signal