MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, what exactly is a twin entry turbo? I'm still pretty new to the world of turbos, and am not really sure what that means....

·
Registered
2,993 Posts
it means the turbo doesnt have a common entry point from all 4 cylinders, it takes an input from 1 cylinder and another input from the other 3. If you look at some pictures of the CT26 you will see how it splits.

Graeme

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so, the twin entry all has to do with the exhaust side of things on the turbo? what are the advantages of that?

·
Registered
12,511 Posts
Actually if you look at the manifold, 1 and 4 go to the one side and 2 and 3 go to the other side.

The whole idea behind twin entry is isolating the runners and the natural vacuum/pull/push effect caused by the valve actuation. The idea is cylinders 1 and 4 "
pulse" together and 2 and 3 "pulse' together. (on a 4 cylinder 1 and 4 and 2 and 3 fire at the same time). When one side is pulsing, it creates a force that could potentially cause turbulence in the exhaust ports so they isolate it by putting each side to its own entry in the turbo. Its supposed to make spoolup and response better.

·
Registered
2,993 Posts
I was sure 1 went in and the other 3 went into the other side, 1 being the shortest run, thats how my gen 3 was i think, i have a gen 1 and 2 manifold and ill look, but ill stand corrected.

Graeme

·
Registered
12,511 Posts
look at the mani, 1 comes up and skirts the outer edge and goes to the far side, and 4 dumps right into it. 2 and 3 just kind of V up into the 2nd side.

edit lol might have 1 and 4 confused, but it doent matter, you know what I mean

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
If all 4 cylinders dump into one large collector volume, you lose a bit of kinetic energy.