MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hello everyone,

I am new to the MR2 world and recently bought a 1992 Turbo Chassis MR2 with a 3rd gen 3SGTE in decent conditions with a few bolt ons.

The CT26 that came with the car was smoking (I assume due to broken seals inside) so I bought a turbo kit from a friend, the Precision Turbo that came with this kit is only oil cooled (no water lines) but the CT26 was oil/water cooled so my question is:

What to do with the unused water/coolant lines?

Sorry if this was already discussed before but I was not able to find a post related to this specific question.

On a side note, the plug shown on the last pic was already disconnected when I got the car, does anyone know what it is for?

Added some pictures for your reference:

f47014c9-8161-4be9-8fdb-a89cf8104a48.JPG
357157b9-cc33-4f13-87ba-74d1b600f746.JPG
f8a0eaf8-6705-409c-ae16-9ef744b9bb26.JPG
cb8e081f-c1b9-48eb-9005-f29ff93d3be9.JPG

·
Registered
858 Posts
I would loop them with a restrictor in the line (piece of aluminum with a maybe 1/8”/3mm hole drilled in it). If you just loop them, that’s a lot of coolant that’s continually bypassing your radiator.

With a restrictor, you have the stock coolant flow circuit, but without a ton of flow bypassing the rad.

·
Premium Member
13,289 Posts
I wouldn't even bother with the restrictor. Just cap them both, or loop them with a solid plug in the line. I don't see any need to have any flow there if it's not going to cool a turbo.

Reactions: GDII

·
Registered
858 Posts
I wouldn't even bother with the restrictor. Just cap them both, or loop them with a solid plug in the line. I don't see any need to have any flow there if it's not going to cool a turbo.
wouldn’t it help circulation in the head and block before the thermostat opens up? I suppose it’s not 100% necessary, but seems the closest to the OEM cooling system function to just restrict it some.

·