MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
640 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im swapping a 2zz in a Mk1. What a project... Steep step for me. But I'm sure some of you have the experience and knowledge to assist.

Going from OBD (non) to OBDII is going to be quite the feat. After consulting with several ppl, I think I'm going to ditch the idea of the factory ECU and harness. I think it will be way tooo involved, and require too much in Celica extras to complete. Unless some of you think otherwise... love to have your input!!!

After talking with Bill, he suggested I contact you guys. He mentioned the tec3, which appears to be an AWSOME setup. I spoke with a rep today and liked what I heard upto the point of $$$$. What systems out there are capable of handling the 2zz and the vvti. Is the Megasquirt capable? What about the O2 wideband tunability. I think the tec3 is well within my means as far as install goes. Im not a pro by any means. Since late Nov. ive purchased my super clean '86 2, '00 2zz engine, harness, ecu and 6spd. Now funds are a bit tight.

What do ya'll feel would best suit me?

MUCH THANKS in advance!!!

·
Automotive cartographer
4,402 Posts
Just about any system can be harwired into the engine harness you have and made to work by somebody who knows what they are doing. If $s are an issue, then this may not be the way for you to go. I could easily do it in a few days if you brought the car to the Turbohoses shop in Livermore, CA. You can expect to pay somewhere in the $5K range for a suitable system plus installation and tuning. If you are an electronics wiz and learn to do your own tuning you might be able to DIY with a megasquirt and a couple hours on a dyno for under $1K.

·
Registered
640 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
RickyB said:
Just about any system can be harwired into the engine harness you have and made to work by somebody who knows what they are doing...