MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1992 MR2 SW20 NA
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, newbie here from the Philippines. I have a 1992 Japanese sw20 3sge (I'm not really sure of the year for we don't have VINs stamped).
Last night 3 warning lights came on all at the same time. (I learned about these lights upon reading posts here on MR2OC)
the engine compartment fan, the catalytic converter overheating and the battery discharge. Since it was dark and raining, i decided to just keep on driving for i was already near home. As i parked, water temp was still normal but battery gauge was down half way. Turned engine off then tried to restart, it was turning over but won't start so i got my charger thinking to add more juice and charged the battery. 2 hours later later still the same, lots of power on the starter but won't start.
Any inputs would be much appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Yup 3 lights of death, but it could be the voltage sensing wire as well, went through I thought 3 defective alts but turned out was just the wire.

·
Registered
1992 MR2 SW20 NA
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This indicates the alternator has failed.

The year of the car can be identified with the chassis number found in the frunk. No need for a VIN number. www.toyodiy.com can tell you. It should be SW20-0000000. Input your numbers where the zeros are.

Hello GDII,
Greetings from the Philippines!
Thanks, with your help, my baby now has an identification. Although she used to be a RHD in Japan, she's now converted to a LHD for we are not allowed to drive RHDs here. 063410199.. is this her complete VIN? I can't seem to get it to expand...
Market
Japan
Year
10/1991
Make
TOYOTA
Model
MR2
Frame
SW20

Vehicle characteristics
GRADE:G:G, G LIMITED TYPE
DESTINATION:JPN:JAPAN
BODY:CP:COUPE
ENGINE:3SGE:2000CC 16-VALVE DOHC EFI
TRANSMISSION:MTM:MANUAL TRANSMISSION
GEAR SHIFT TYPE:5F:MTM, 5-SPEED FLOOR SHIFT
COLOR CODE:202
TRIM CODE:

Search Results