MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i'm new to the mr2 world and was wondering what the pros and cons are of a roll cage. Also is it cheaper to get it installed if you have a targa top and how much did it cost? Just looking for ball park numbers. Thanks

·
Registered
328 Posts
Other than the obvious pros from a rollcage (track-legal, and safety in an accident) the main benefit will be the rigidity in the frame of the car. It would be similar to installing strut bars after not having them = less lean/roll in turns. They make street driving cars (as well as track) much more uncomfortable and harder to get in/out of. These typically arent recommended for a daily driver.

·
Premium Member
13,211 Posts
ceraxis said:
Other than the obvious pros from a rollcage (track-legal, and safety in an accident) the main benefit will be the rigidity in the frame of the car. It would be similar to installing strut bars after not having them = less lean/roll in turns. They make street driving cars (as well as track) much more uncomfortable and harder to get in/out of. These typically arent recommended for a daily driver.
also, as tomsmr2 mentioned, they make your street car much MORE dangerous in an accident, unless you wear a full harness AND helmet on the street.

·
Registered
21,388 Posts
im not convinced that roll BARS arent safe for street cars.. if built right, its only subtracting 1.5-2 inches to the distance from your head to the rear sills anyways. if your bodys contoring in a crash enough to hit that, you're probably dead anyhow ;)

a full cage is different.. those side and front bars (front halo area) are pretty intrusive, and CLOSE to your head. you can hit them just getting in and out (i have x_x, it hurts alot).

·
MK. II RACING
4,335 Posts