MR2 Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an '86 n/a mr2 that is completely stock at the moment. I race it in local autocross events but I would like to add some hp's to it. I'm not looking for huge amounts of power. I would like between 150 to 200 hp and I would like it to be reliable. I need some input on which would be better for me. Building up the N/A motor or turbo charging it. Which would be easier, which would be cheaper, but mostly which would be more fun. If anyone has any advice or any stories of mods they have done please let me know. I am pretty new to this whole thing so any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

Danny

·
Registered
2,714 Posts
search, there are plenty of threads about this subject... people swapping in supercharged engines, people upgrading theirs to make it turbo or whatnot... i have no experiance with such...

do a search you should find a bunch of stuff

~mikeym

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I know about the supercharged motor but why should I use that over the one that I have already? I don't mind cracking mine open and changing some internals if I need to but let me know why the sc motor would be better.

·
Premium Member
16,626 Posts
First off, if you're gonn'a boost it, you don't start with an N/A motor - epsecially one out of an '86.

Crack it open and change some internals? Sure - crank, all bearings, rods, pistons, rings, drill block and install a knock sensor, then replace all the gaskets and button it back up (with a weaker block, I might add). Then replace the ECU, injectors, and AFM.

Or, you could start with the right engine.

Of course, if you had done a search (of this Board), you would have known that the pre-'88 block and crank will only support about 180HP. And that boosting without a knock sensor, and on stock N/A electronics, will turn all your $$ and hard work into a pile of worthless junk in a heartbeat.

·
Registered
177 Posts