MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey i am intrested in pruchasing a mr2 from one of the members on this board. He is a very nice guy and gave me descriptionsof everything. The only problem with his car is the fact that it is leaking some oil and that it is relatively high milegaed ( 180,0000) and that i would have to change its timing belt soon.

can people on this board tell me if i such a high milegaed car give me any trouble???

Would there be a problem, coming from two turbo volvos, i know that turbos get worn out by the time they hit 100,000 miles.

thanks the car is in the forsale section.

again he is a very nice guy and i dont wish to insult him by making this post, however i am a student and have limited funds.

·
Registered
2,010 Posts
at 180k miles youd have to look into replacing the turbo if it is the stock one, if you want alot of boost. But then again if you want alot of boost youd probably plan on changin turbos anyway. And the engine leaking would be something to look into since its a turbo, on the N/A they always leak oil at 90k+ miles, but im not sure on the trubos. Probably something small but i dunno. There is no way i could tell if ya the call will give ya trouble. If the previous owner took very good care of it then maybe not. If he didnt take care of it you should look into swaping out the engine. If you are on limited funds, meaning you wont have any cash after buying the car, then i would say dont buy. No matter how good mr2s are(and they kick ass the reason i have 1..=D) they are still older cars and will require more upkeep. Id say, plan on doing an engine swap for another 3sgte. Then with all the other matinence(sorry cant spell) id say try to have atleast 2k after you buy the car for replacing/repairing. You probably wont need 2k, but since i dont know anything about the car then at 180k itd probably be a safe guess if you dont plan on doing any performance upgrades to it.

·