MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to mr2's (also Toyota's in general), so all of your alls help is appreciated. I am looking at a us 91 turbo coupe with the t-top 5-spd, leather interior. It has around 160k on motor and body, and appears to be in good shape. Like I stated I am new to mr2's, however not cars in general I have done several swaps etc....in Honduhs (I am currently working on a turbo crx project). I have been searching on here to find as much info as possible about these cars, my friend helps also, he has a 91 with a jdm genIII 3sgte swap. I have found that these cars are very reliable, if taken care of properly. I have also found that around 275whp is attainable with only around 2k worth of mods if installed yourself :smile: . However the reason I posted is to get some feedback/advice on some questions I have. Is there any certain things I should look for when looking/test-driving this car (besides the normal), like any common problems these cars have that need to be avoided? Is 160k considered very high mileage, that most people stray from because not worth modding because it would need a rebuild soon? Is there any major maintenance that would have needed to be preformed at or around this mileage (like Honda needs timing belt and water pump every 80-100k)? I know these are pretty general questions so any, advice/things to look out for when buying one would be appreciated

P.S. I looked in the Newbs F.A.Q. section and got as much info as possible, but I am human and may have missed an answer to one of my questions. So if needed just yell at me and tell me to look there again :thumbup

Thanks
Andrew

·
Registered
620 Posts
Things to look out for.

leaky t-tops
bad shifting tranny
oil leaks
maintence records
salvage titles
car in a wreck (i wouldn't buy it) check carfax