MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my number 4 rod has about a 1.5 to 2mm slide clearance on it (the spec in the BBG is like .5mm I think), ive driven about 2000 miles on the engine and its not giving me any trouble but at an idle once the engine is at regular temp, my oil pressure drops to below ten psi (aftermarket gauge). It runs at about 26psi regularly. The gauge is tapped at the head (front left corner I do believe). Would it be appropriate to run more than stock boost on it, or is that too serious a risk? Also my lifters make a lot of noise, not sure if thats uncommon
thanks
daniel

·
Registered
4,023 Posts
maybe the rod bearings are the wrong size.....i had to get another crank cause the only size bearings that would fit my stocker were .030 over. i now have .010 over clevites. anywho, maybe the person who put the motor together put the wrong size bearing like a .010 over bearing instead of a .020 over bearing.....

i'm no expert so take my post as a "what if/maybe" but not expert advice or even a correct answer to that matter! good luck...

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
my other rods fit fine, when I took my crank to the machine shop they had to weld onto the rod journal and then mill it off to get the correct diameter on it, I assume that they milled the journal too widely, giving the rod more room to slide back and forth

·
Registered
3,080 Posts
dkent said:
my other rods fit fine, when I took my crank to the machine shop they had to weld onto the rod journal and then mill it off to get the correct diameter on it, I assume that they milled the journal too widely, giving the rod more room to slide back and forth

yuck.

Well Im not an expert but I know a bit... the purpose of the rod side clearance is to allow oil to freely escape without creating backpressure... while not being so large that the rod is able to move around too much.