MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here and just found this forum on the net. I'm 14 and I'm from Australia. In a few more years, I will be getting my first car and hopefully it will be a NA MR-2. Unfortunately, I will not be modifying the car straight up, as the insurance will only go up.

But anyway, what do you guys think? Good idea, bad idea, and any tips of what I should do when I (hopefully) get the beast that is the MR-2?

Thanks guys. :thumbup

·
Registered
1,886 Posts
Welcome! Sure go for it, I bought my mkII NA when I was 17. However, I hope you're more mature than I was, and not be tempted to speed like a banshee and race. It has ugly repercussions. Trust me on that one. Oh and by no means is a NA a beast. It is actually rather slow, but it will still turn heads and handling is superb.

Oh and modifying does not make insurance rates go up. The only problem is, if your car gets totalled, you will lose all the money you put into your car, unless you pull all your aftermarket goodies out and put back the old. Insurance companies give you what your car is worthe in the market, without taking into account the modifications that you've made.

·
Registered
323 Posts
vtsuckah said:
Welcome! Sure go for it, I bought my mkII NA when I was 17. However, I hope you're more mature than I was, and not be tempted to speed like a banshee and race. It has ugly repercussions. Trust me on that one. Oh and by no means is a NA a beast. It is actually rather slow, but it will still turn heads and handling is superb.

Oh and modifying does not make insurance rates go up. The only problem is, if your car gets totalled, you will lose all the money you put into your car, unless you pull all your aftermarket goodies out and put back the old. Insurance companies give you what your car is worthe in the market, without taking into account the modifications that you've made.