MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is going to be my frist time dealing with a dyno. When they starp it on to the dyno, do I get to sit in the drivers seat and accelerate or is that someone elses job? Does it take along time to get the car onto and strapped down to a dyno (I think its the roller-styled dyno not a dynapack where the wheels are removed)?

I am getting 3 pulls and a 30 minute time slot for 45 with this group deal. I think its a good price but Im a newbie.

What kind of HP/TQ numbers should I expect with my mods : hks exhuast 2.5", k&n intake kit, nology hot wires, BKR7E copper plugs, boost controller set at 16 or 17 psi ? I am guessing around the 200 hp mark IF I am lucky.

I have 18x8 inch 26 pound wheels in the rear, will that affect my HP/TQ numbers? (heavy wheels!)

Thanks alot, I am new to the dyno thing and have only had my 2 for 6 months so Im still learning alot of stuff. Thanks

jason

·
Registered
5,759 Posts
as far as the driving part of your question-that would depend on the kind of dyno.
dynojets usual have one of thier guys "drive" it
mustang dynos let the owners of the car do it

not real sure about the wheel part of it, im sure someone can get on here and answer that for you though.

garrett

·
Registered
5,392 Posts
Garrett, Ive NEVER been to a dyno where they let you drive your own car on the dyno and Ive been to quite a few. Maybe your guys are just nicer, but I can really see insurance companies not liking that. Sleepin-MR2, the main thing is to not have any expectations. 95% of people come away disappointed from the dyno. The expectation of 200rwhp is very accurate but I would not expect much more. Thats the best way to go home happy and not feel like you wasted $45.

·
Registered
565 Posts
i would probably expect 200-205rwhp with those mods.
it take 10-15 mins to set up the dyno. all be done in 1/2 hr
good luck mate

·
Registered
1,467 Posts