MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alright well i swaped my 91 na to a 93 turbo and ever since i have had a few problems. the main one is that when driving, most of the time if i hit boost or go over like a thrid throtle the check engine light comes on and it feels like it cuts the ingnition or something. the car just falls dead on its face and if you let off the throtle for a few seconds it will go away usually. i dont really know where to start so any input would be great.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thx ill try that, my speedo isnt hooked up right now, i did not know if that would do that im new to mr2's

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yes if the car dies (it idles really low somtimes) or i turn it off the check engine light is not on. im kind of at a loss, i have to change my elec tranny to manual or my cable cluster to elec to hook up my speed sensor, im not sure which way to go, but if it turns off the check engine light is not on when it is restarted

·
Registered
4,993 Posts
there is a mechanical gear in your na tranny. i don't think the speed would be totally correct, but i think it would work. mechanical is the way to go or buy new wires all the way to your cluster (2 of em i think that are like $50 each atleast, pluse a cluster isn't easy to find). if you go electronic, i have a cluster (jdm in kph) that i'd like to sell. email at [email protected] for pics and price.

·
Premium Member
12,271 Posts
Yup, sounds like FC to me.

Why do people want board members to guess why they get a CEL, when all they have to do use the diagnostic procedure and let the ECU tell them why it came on?

bill

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #9