MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a track only SW20 which I have been playing around with for 5 years. After spending a lot of time and effort with a 3SGTE I have now moved onto the 2GRFE.
As I am not satisfied by simply fitting a stock engine with stock power, my goal is for something a little more wild. It is good fortune that some of the best engine builders of the Toyota V6 can be found in Australia but (not surprising) they all hail from NZ (New Zealand) with most based in Australia. After a few conversations and some experience the 2GRFE that will be fitted into my SW20 will be an angry little beast even though its only a NA spec engine.
Based on the application, boosting is not required and will add weight and complexity which I have no interest in. Yes, power would be 700-1200hp but complete overkill.
So the goal is for 400+hp with 7800rpm redline. These are realistic figures from the builder/tuners in Australia and NZ who have seen these figures on engine dyno's but realistically, I would be very happy to see 350hp at 7500rpm.
These are goals, nothing more. This thread is about the way to get there. I cannot give everything away but will provide enough information to motivate others to 'have a go'.

·
Registered
47 Posts
I was follwing your topic on mr2australia before, similar to you I was dissapointed with 3sgte for track use and swaped 2gr but stock excluding exhaust and SA ECU.

I'll plan different way treating engine longblock as quite affordable replacement part and use rotrex SC but for sure I'll be interested with cams.

I have also one extra oil baffled pan for 2gr if you want.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was follwing your topic on mr2australia before, similar to you I was dissapointed with 3sgte for track use and swaped 2gr but stock excluding exhaust and SA ECU.