MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
1,575 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been reading all these threads about each tire, and I just can't find a consensus on which tire is the best to get. Currently, I have 205/45/16 Yokohama AVS es100's on the front.
For the rear, Im lookin to get 225/45/16. For this I can get either the es100's or the Falken fk451's (I don't think the Azeni's come in that size). In this case, which would have better grip - the es100's or the fk451s? They have the same treadwear.
Now the Azeni's come in. They come in 215/45/16, for about the same price as the Yok's and fk451's. In this case, which would grip better, the grippier of the 225's, or the 215 Azenis?

SO basically, of the three, 225/45/16 es100s or fk451's, or 215/45/16 azenis, which would offer the best rear end grip?

Thanks,
Stan

·
Registered
4,981 Posts
I have been buying ES100's for the last 2 years for my 91T and I love them and I will continue to buy them when new tires are needed again. I think they have awesome wet and dry grip. I have not had either of your other choices though, sorry. :)

·
Registered
3,183 Posts
the FK451s are superior the es100 in every category (wet, dry, treadlife) and cost the same... so there is NO reason to ever buy es100s... sloppy sidewalls, subpar traction, and ______ treadlife....

the azenis will provide the best DRY grip... but will wear MUCH faster and SUCK in the rain.

if you need a daily driver or ever see rain, get the fk451s.

---

and I've personally OWNED, USED and DRIVEN on all three of these tires (in various sizes)

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
yeah, I dont trust azenis in the rain brand new. I hydroplaned and eventually caused me to spin out on the freeway with 75% tread life...azenis=scary ____ in the rain. From my experience with ES100s and Azenis, ES100s own all around but Azenis man handles anything Ive ridden on in the dry. Both had crappy tread life.

·
Registered
3,104 Posts