MR2 Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
** I am not a professional mechanic, take any advice at your own risk **

This thread is intended not so much to be a guide, but another resource for anyone doing a similar swap looking for pitfalls that I will certainly fall into. It also serves as my own project record, and any future owner of the car would likely find it valuable. Please excuse any long gaps in posting updates, as we have a newborn and a two-year old, so I currently only have a few hours a week at night to work on this project.

As mentioned above, I am not a professional mechanic by any means but have always been somewhat mechanically inclined. This will actually be my first engine swap, and first time dealing with a number of automotive components (e.g. transmission/clutch, fuel system, etc.). Hopefully people can chime in as I go along with any advice or experience.

My goal with this car is to have a semi-track ready NA MR2 that I can take into the mountains on the weekends (CO). My prior weekend/project car was an S54 2001 BMW Z3 M Roadster. I ended up selling that car for a number of reasons, mostly due to the value as a collector car and the roadster was not eligible to join most events at our local track without a roll cage. The car did make me fall in love with high revving NA power, and here we are now.

There will be a number of posts right off the bat, as I am already halfway into the swap.

2GR Acquisition
MR2 Acquisition
Valve Covers & Painting
2GR Swap Goodies
3SGTE Removal Prep
3SGTE Removal
Engine Bay Prep for Paint
Engine Bay Paint
Fuel System

2GRFE from a wrecked 2016 Avalon with 25k miles:

The SW20 I acquired shortly after (yes, I know the racing stripes are horrible):

Current Status:

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
2GR acquisition: