MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question:

Would engine lid rearward-facing scoops such as these...

http://nabeck.web.fc2.com/hg-awaw.htm

... help the AW11 by forcing air back (instead of up) and potentially reshaping airflow down further toward the back of the car?

This seems (to me) like it would work, assuming one is running some aggressive upward-blowing fans and/or a scoop underneath to force more air up into the engine bay.

Let me know if this sounds like total :bsflag: .

Just throwing some thoughts out there.

·
Registered
640 Posts
I'm no expert on aerodynamics but my guess would be that the airflow over the back of the lid will pull air out of the vents and aid in the designed bottom in and out the top flow the car has.

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
Caprandom said:
I'm no expert on aerodynamics but my guess would be that the airflow over the back of the lid will pull air out of the vents and aid in the designed bottom in and out the top flow the car has.
The air over the engine lid is stagnant. I don't think this kind of engine lid has any kind of aerodynamic effect. It may actually cause less-dense hot air from the engine to reduce the effect of a rear wing if the car is equipped with one.

·
Premium Member
10,238 Posts
USDMSW21 said:
The air over the engine lid is stagnant. I don't think this kind of engine lid has any kind of aerodynamic effect. It may actually cause less-dense hot air from the engine to reduce the effect of a rear wing if the car is equipped with one.