MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im a noob. im not running all water, but coolant more diluted than its supposed to be.

will anything blow up or what?

·
Registered
602 Posts
higher freezing temp, lower boiling temp. temps vary upon mixture. should be ok if nothing overheats. you should correct the problem though.

·
Premium Member
16,626 Posts
The biggest reason to use anti-freeze coolant in an area that doesn't freeze is for the lubricants and corrosion inhibiters that it contains. That's also why you should change it every 3 years.

In the race car, we use about half the anti-freeze recommended, plus an additional water pump lube / corrosion inhibiter, and water wetter - which is basically a glorified detergent. ;)

·
Registered
4,486 Posts
yes I run about 1/2 - 2/3 of what's recomended, the car will run colder with less % of coolant.

·
Registered
1,229 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
hrmm.. thing is im in Miami FL so its never gonna freeze...

and my car does seem to be overheating, although i cant tell cuz 1. im a noob and 2. my coolant temp sensors arent working :/

so ur saying detergent = :ghetto: water wetter?

btw if anyones looking, how many water temp sensors are there (ive seen sites say theres more than one)??

·
Premium Member
16,626 Posts
Water Wetter is a surfactant. So is detergent. I wouldn't go putting Ivory Snow in there, but something like Simple Green . . . .?? :D

There are 3 sensors: one for the temp gauge (near the alternator, on an N/A), one for the ECU (on top of the tranny - by the thermostat) and one in the radiator (to turn on the fans).

·
Registered
602 Posts
kakapoopie said:
hrmm.. thing is im in Miami FL so its never gonna freeze...