MR2 Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Whenever I start my car all of the dashboard lights come on and stay on, and i have a very bad drain on my battery. I am a noob when it comes to servicing cars so I would just like to know where to start.

·
Premium Member
12,361 Posts
This is while the engine is running, right? Start with a more precise description. Tell us specifically which lights are still on. I think it unlikely that "all" of them are on, and which ones are on is important information.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
This is while the engine is running, right? Start with a more precise description. Tell us specifically which lights are still on. I think it unlikely that "all" of them are on, and which ones are on is important information.
I charged up the battery last night and attempted to start the car today, the accessory came on but the engine wouldn't turn over.

·
Premium Member
12,361 Posts
So did all of the dash lights go out when you engaged the starter? Remember that I cannot look over your shoulder, and I am not a mind reader. I am going to guess what is happening here, and you can tell me if any of this does not match your experience. I will guess that your alternator is dead, and if that has been the case for a while, then your battery is dead along with it, and trying to recharge it did nothing. If the alternator is dead, then there are three dash lights that stay on: The charge light, the brake light, and the cooling fan light. The second two are wired in with the charge light just so the bulbs will get tested when you turn on the ignition. If this is what is going on, then you need a new alternator and a new battery and you will be good to go. Is there anything else wrong with the car? How long have you been driving the car with the dash lights on?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·