MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, I am new to the car world and I’m starting a project which is a 91 mr2 turbo. The car is currently not running so my question is is investing in repairing a 30 year old 3sgte engine (estimated 150k miles) worth it or would I be saving myself a headache by swapping it? Some of my concerns about the 3sgte are reliability and the cost/availability of parts.

·
6,156 Posts
gen2 3sgtes can be built to be strong engines making way more power than a MR2 should have. The most dated feature on the gen2 and 3 engines are the distributor, it can leak oil and cause problems with standalone ems. Telling us your power goal would give us a good starting point for which generation engine you should swap or keep the gen2. If all you care about is power a Honda K series is the best swap you can do but also the hardest and probably most expensive.

Most people with a dead gen2 or 5SFE swap a caldina gen4.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response! Ultimately id like to be around 300 - 350 but nothing over that. My main concern honestly isn’t whether the 3sgte can make that power but if it can make that power reliably and won’t be breaking down on me all the time. I guess a better question would be whether a 30 year old 3sgte after being repaired and well maintained would be as reliable as a newer engine ( a Honda k series for example).

·
Registered
512 Posts
I recently completed a gen 2 refresh. The motor has 150k on it. I only Have the head redone. I left the block alone. Replace all seals, gaskets and belts. Oh, I got the turbo rebuilt with billet wheel. I am not a horse power freak. I drove a 5fse for 27 yrs, so jumping up to a turbo is good enough for me. It’s been 11k miles now, I have no issues with the gen 2.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5