MR2 Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi this is my first post on the forum, I’m pretty new to working on cars and only started because after I bought this car it stopped working and the shop I took it too only made it worse.

So the problem was that it wouldn’t start or would start and then immediatley stall. We ruled out vacuum leaks and spark plugs so ruled it out to fuel. The shop stated they dropped the gas tank and replaced the “broken” fuel level sensor. When I got it back the spark plug wires were taped with numbers but were mismatched so it was misfiring like crazy and wouldn’t stay on. They told it I had low compression - so worn piston rings or head gasket, anyway once I’m home it leaks gas all over my garage and I check and its the fuel line leading the filter. So here’s where I started attenpting to fix it, I replaced the spark plugs just in case, replaced the pretty worn spark plug wires, replaced the air filter, fuel filter and oil filter as well as an oil change. It finally began starting after I replaced the fuel filter which leads me to believe even more that it’s a fuel problem. My next question is, with the car starting and idling ok not too rough but not perfect should I next attempt to clean the fuel injectors or replace the fuel pump?
Any opinions help, thanks!

·
Premium Member
12,621 Posts
...So the problem was that it wouldn’t start or would start and then immediatley stall. We ruled out vacuum leaks and spark plugs so ruled it out to fuel...