MR2 Owners Club Message Board

MR2 Owners Club Message Board (https://www.mr2oc.com/forum.php)
-   MKII, 90-99 NA & Turbo (https://www.mr2oc.com/6-mkii-90-99-na-turbo/)
-   -   harmonic balancer search (https://www.mr2oc.com/6-mkii-90-99-na-turbo/679314-harmonic-balancer-search.html)

tlcferret June 9th, 2019 16:19

harmonic balancer search

I have a 91 NA 2.2 engine I am rebuilding . My balancer's outside pulley has seperated. An attempt to get it rebuilt was met with laughter and Rock auto shows no listing for one. Is there an alternative solution possibly from another motor or do I need one form another 2.2 MR2 motor?

benckj June 9th, 2019 16:58

Find a second hand one from your engine model.

Jim

steve108 June 12th, 2019 18:42

Check out damper doctor. I have no first-hand experience with them, but they seem to be offering a rebuild service. Sadly a lot of the local shops aren't interested in doing stuff they haven't done before, but it doesn't mean it isn't possible.

whh333 June 13th, 2019 06:31

Take a look at Dale's Manufacturing

I had the same situation, and a search on this board got me Dale's Manufacturing. You will have to do a web search to get his page, because this list will not let me post links until I have more postings. His web site is hbrepair with a dot com, if that code makes sense.

I could not have been more pleased with his work. Price was fair. He specifically lists our 2.2 balancers as one he is familiar with. He gives a lifetime warranty. I think you will be pleased as I was.

Take a look at his web site, and note that June is one of his months off. I sent mine in December and it took a while because that is one of his months off, and he seems to need to catch up when he gets back to work.

Good Luck!

GE_Troller June 14th, 2019 22:33

Thats pretty cool. Lot of work for little money.
Harmonic Balancers

JDM Factory June 15th, 2019 10:16

There's one on eBay for $142 + shipping. I think it's the same Divinity on here.