making cruise control work on the 2GRFE - MR2 Owners Club Message Board
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old February 10th, 2010, 15:02 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 37
Posts: 3,395
OldTrader Rating: (14)
making cruise control work on the 2GRFE

firstly, thanks to "2muchfun" for sending me an extra cruise stalk so i don't have to risk damaging the one on my car for figuring this out.

anyways, i decided to take it apart to see just how complicated it would be to make it have the right values.

1)using a small screwdriver in the four spots indicated, gentry seperate the top cover from the main body


2)the stalk then just pulls out and up to remove it.


3)two more little clips to remove the circuit board


you've now liberated the circuit board


the changes here are pretty simple, all three resistors need to be changed and the white "D" wire needs to be connected to the red wire.

A is for resume
B is for cancel
C is for set

as for the new values, i'm having a problem finding them right now, i know someone posted them before but i cannot find where. perhaps someone can point out where? (I'll update this as soon as i have the info again)

reassembly just snaps all back together.

unfortunately, there isn't a simple way to make the cruise light work again. the light state is sent out over CAN and the MR2 cluster doesn't understand CAN
Gouky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old February 10th, 2010, 23:23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Green Bay
Age: 45
Posts: 410
OldTrader Rating: (39)
For MR2:
RESUME/ACCEL = 68 Ohms
SET/COAST = 198 Ohms
CANCEL = 418 Ohms
(individual resistor values of 68, 130, and 220 ohms wired in series)


For Lexus ES350:
RESUME/ACCEL = 240 Ohms
SET/COAST = 630 Ohms
CANCEL = 1540 Ohms
(individual resistor values of 240, 390, and 910 ohms, wired in series)

EDIT: I should add that this does not apply to Canadian models, because apparently they use a different switch/ECU combination where there are no resistors in the switch. Each function utilizes a completely separate pin on the ECU where each button press results in a temporary continuity to ground on that particular pin (I like this better).

From this thread..Thanks Gouky for working on again.......
https://www.mr2oc.com/showthread.php?...cruise+control
rtech95 is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old February 11th, 2010, 06:21 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 37
Posts: 3,395
OldTrader Rating: (14)
hey, those are what i was looking for.

also, note that the MR2 circuit doesn't have these wired in series, so the total values are the values we need.

A = 240 Ohms
B = 1540 Ohms
C = 630 Ohms
Gouky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old February 11th, 2010, 17:00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wake Forest
Age: 43
Posts: 1,062
OldTrader Rating: (39)
This is great! I am glad that I finally helped with something. Good work Marc as usual!!!!!!

Brad.
2muchfun is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old February 17th, 2012, 11:06
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 135
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Sorry to drag this up, but did you get this working Marc?

I connected up the speedo to the clocks and ran the speed signal back from the clocks to the ECU Plug E pin 8.

At first the engine seemed to idle odd, especially on the over-run slowing down and tended to keep the revs high. Pretty sure it ran a P500 code (which one I'm not sure now)
Since then it has setlled down and drives fine, the code hasn't come back after clearing and I'm seeing a VSS on my OBD2 scanner. Did you get that initially?

I've bought a cruise stalk and hoping to do the modifications shown above and if it works then I'll be a happy man!
Gripper is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old February 17th, 2012, 11:50 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 37
Posts: 3,395
OldTrader Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gripper
Sorry to drag this up, but did you get this working Marc?

I connected up the speedo to the clocks and ran the speed signal back from the clocks to the ECU Plug E pin 8.

At first the engine seemed to idle odd, especially on the over-run slowing down and tended to keep the revs high. Pretty sure it ran a P500 code (which one I'm not sure now)
Since then it has setlled down and drives fine, the code hasn't come back after clearing and I'm seeing a VSS on my OBD2 scanner. Did you get that initially?

I've bought a cruise stalk and hoping to do the modifications shown above and if it works then I'll be a happy man!
i never did do this stuff myself. but i'm not surprised the engine had to learn that it could not shift the transmission again when it saw a VSS. i would not expect long term effects from that.

did you confirm the vss difference between the 2gr and the mr2? example: at 50mph indicated, the 2gr said it was traveling 60mph or something like that. the speeds don't need to be the same but they need to be in the right ballpark becuase the ECU will speed limit you over 115 or 125mph and it won't engage cruise below 30mph.
Gouky is online now  
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old February 17th, 2012, 11:57
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 135
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Lovely stuff it did feel like the ECU was trying to match revs for shifting down an Auto that wasn't there
I only managed to check it had a VSS with the back end of the car in the air and the car idling in 2nd gear but never noted what speed it was, so shall check that again!
I've purchased an extension cable now so I can run the scanner into the cabin and check properly on the road.

If all goes well I'll get the cruise stalk modified and get it run into the car, shall report back how it goes.

Last edited by Gripper; February 17th, 2012 at 12:04.
Gripper is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old July 3rd, 2012, 16:43
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Mateo, CA
Age: 35
Posts: 4,486
OldTrader Rating: (17)
Anyone have this working, confirmed???
uspspro is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old March 4th, 2015, 10:44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: monroeville, al
Age: 33
Posts: 818
OldTrader Rating: (16)
So Im trying to get this cruise control thing working since it seems many have done it already. I have my speed sensor working I have the STP+ - inputs ran through a spdt relay off the brake light wire. STP- gets power with no brake and IG on. STP+ gets power when the brake is pressed and turns the relay off on STP-. That is how I read the diagram.

I modified my stock switch with a 220, 460, and 1k resistors. Thes fell into the acceptable ranges but I still dont get cruise to work. I have an 06 RAV4 Ecu.

ON/OFF = 0 Ohms
RESUME/ACCEL = 220 Ohms
SET/COAST = 660 Ohms
CANCEL = 1660 Ohms
donteatbugs is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old March 6th, 2015, 21:31
Nik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,226
OldTrader Rating: (13)
I admittedly don't have this working yet myself but plan to and have a bunch of wiring diagrams drawn up to that effect. I'm going to try to make the cruise light work too....

How did you wire the switch up to the ecu? The MR2 switch has on/off as a separate circuit from the other functions.
Nik is offline  
post #11 of 40 (permalink) Old March 7th, 2015, 06:38
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: monroeville, al
Age: 33
Posts: 818
OldTrader Rating: (16)
You can tie the white and red wires together and run them to the single ecu input and ground the w-b wire. Im getting a camry CC switch this week to try it out. Ill also reset my ecu I guess.

Speed sensor working.
donteatbugs is offline  
post #12 of 40 (permalink) Old March 9th, 2015, 21:22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brooklet, GA
Age: 41
Posts: 144
OldTrader Rating: (0)
I'm glad to see this thread come back. Please keep it updated as you get your cruise online. I have the resistors in the values Marc listed above, and was waiting for spring break to tackle my attempt at getting it to work.
slideoil is offline  
post #13 of 40 (permalink) Old March 10th, 2015, 06:03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: monroeville, al
Age: 33
Posts: 818
OldTrader Rating: (16)
I have the RAV4 4x4 ecu without an immobilizer. Im not sure that makes a difference or not.

Cruise switch is the factory Camry 2 wire switch with one side to GND on the chassis and the other side going to the CCS pin on the ecu. I have BATT voltage on the ecu CCS pin with IG on. I get the correct voltages when each button is pressed on the switch as well.

STP+ and - are ran through a SPDT relay. Common is IG+ , STP- is NC STP+ is NO. I use the brake light wire + to trip the relay.

I have the SPD sensor working and it registers about 10% lower than my actual speed, (Which is really nice for the speed cuts at 144 mph)

ECU is wired in D range from IG+.

The only thing I can see different in my wiring than in Paul's (he has cruise working) is that he has STP- and STA wire into IG+.

I have STA hooked to the starter relay and STP- wired correctly through a relay. I can move some jumpers around and try STA hot all the time I guess. I think that would run the Fuel Pump when the car is stalled though.



Other notes. Car drives and idles completely normal, I only have about 5 drive cycles on the engine. Last time I checked I only have 4 CEL codes. Both rear O2 sensors, Trans solenoid A, and Evap Canister high.
donteatbugs is offline  
post #14 of 40 (permalink) Old March 17th, 2015, 11:31
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: monroeville, al
Age: 33
Posts: 818
OldTrader Rating: (16)
Ok, I tried a few combinations of different wiring with no success.

Wired STAR to STA. That threw a Starter circuit pending fault
Wired STA to IG2. That put the car in limp mode.
Wired STAR to IG2. That had no affect.
Wired D4 to IG2. No affect.

Im getting nothing to indicate the cruise shouldnt work. I want to swap in a 2wd ECU and see if its not liking the 4WD missing?

Other than that Ive pretty much given up on this. Unless someone besides cyclehead has this working that can chime in. I have all his notes and it still didnt work.
donteatbugs is offline  
post #15 of 40 (permalink) Old March 30th, 2015, 14:24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: monroeville, al
Age: 33
Posts: 818
OldTrader Rating: (16)
I did some more reading on the matter via RAV4 forums and it seems that the 4WD ecu turns VSC, 4WD and Cruise off for almost anything CEL related. I talked some more with cyclehead and I think he is running the 2WD ecu. The searches I did on the 2wd doesnt show cruise being disabled near as often. I may try to send cyclehead my ecu next month and have him test this theory. If so Ill be selling my 4wd ecu for a 2wd one.

Here is the list of codes he normaly has.

P0713
Transmission Fluid Temp Sensor "A" Circuit High

P0748
Pressure Control Solenoid "A" Electrical

P0778
Pressure Control Solenoid B" Electrical

P0793
Intermediate Shaft Speed Sensor "A" Circuit No Signal

P0983
Shift Solenoid "D" Control Circuit High

P0986
Shift Solenoid "F" Control Circuit High

I have evap and secondary O2 codes. He said the secondary o2 has thrown efficiency codes on his and cruise still worked. I tested mine with the rear o2 and still no cruise. I guess I'll try the evap sensor next.
donteatbugs is offline  
post #16 of 40 (permalink) Old April 23rd, 2015, 21:09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: monroeville, al
Age: 33
Posts: 818
OldTrader Rating: (16)
Problem solved, only the 2wd RAV4 ecu will work with cruise.

You will also need the speed sensor wire hooked up, and both brake inputs.
donteatbugs is offline  
post #17 of 40 (permalink) Old April 24th, 2015, 10:01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Burnaby/Blaine
Age: 39
Posts: 1,028
OldTrader Rating: (22)
Garage
Well crap, 4wd ECU right here.
immorality is offline  
post #18 of 40 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2015, 14:04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brooklet, GA
Age: 41
Posts: 144
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Dumb question time.

When talking about connecting the red and white wires, how do you mean to connect them? Do you cut one and connect the cut end to the other wire? Do you just strip a bit of both of them and join them that way?
slideoil is offline  
post #19 of 40 (permalink) Old May 3rd, 2015, 10:32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: monroeville, al
Age: 33
Posts: 818
OldTrader Rating: (16)
Either way, I chose to tie then both together where I joined it to the wire I have running all the way back to the ecu.
donteatbugs is offline  
post #20 of 40 (permalink) Old May 5th, 2015, 14:09
1991/2001 V6 Mr2 #8
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate Central NY - Syracuse
Age: 38
Posts: 2,209
OldTrader Rating: (7)
If you look into the 2AZ manual transmission ecu, There is a clutch switch for cruise control that basically tells the ecu that you are in neutral every time that you clutch in.

A separate switch from the clutch start switch.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

91'/01' Mr2 V6, Purplish Blue Mica, 98' body

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

DaveMush is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MR2 Owners Club Message Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: (1 members)
Tritsch
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome