v8 powered mr2 - MR2 Owners Club Message Board
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 536 (permalink) Old July 23rd, 2012, 14:15 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 33
Posts: 677
OldTrader Rating: (6)
v8 powered mr2

I'm starting my new build in the next few weeks. The drivetrain arrives this thursday. Engine is a 4.2L v8 out of a 2001 audi a6, chassis is a 1991 USDM MR2. Transmission will be a 6 speed manual. This will be the most unique engine swap I've ever done, probably also the most labor intensive.

Here's the car:



And what the motor is going in (my 3vz-fe powered 3.0L v6 mr2):

widebodystarlet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 536 (permalink) Old July 23rd, 2012, 14:30
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bowie, MD
Age: 34
Posts: 2,477
OldTrader Rating: (17)
Nice! Cant wait to see the finish product.
walka is offline  
post #3 of 536 (permalink) Old July 23rd, 2012, 15:23
MR2OC Founder
 
Bill Strong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Lovingston, Va
Age: 56
Posts: 42,296
OldTrader Rating: (122)
Northsouth like the Woodsport conversions right? please say yes

Bill Strong
Marketing Director
On-Air Host
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ChampCar Endurance Series


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bill Strong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 536 (permalink) Old July 24th, 2012, 10:21 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 33
Posts: 677
OldTrader Rating: (6)
Absolutely, longitudinal is the only way to go.
widebodystarlet is offline  
post #5 of 536 (permalink) Old July 28th, 2012, 21:46 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 33
Posts: 677
OldTrader Rating: (6)
Something finally arrived today:


widebodystarlet is offline  
post #6 of 536 (permalink) Old July 29th, 2012, 03:27
Registered User
 
filonin_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Highlands, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 8,745
OldTrader Rating: (11)
You bought the whole damn car? I can see you mean business.
filonin_2 is offline  
post #7 of 536 (permalink) Old July 29th, 2012, 07:35
Don't mess with Texas
 
Texas_Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19,880
OldTrader Rating: (31)
What was wrong with the car? Doesn't looked to be wrecked.

1993 MR2 turbo build TBD....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I am still alive, just busy with life. Still got the MR2 sitting the in driveway. Someday it will be back on the road. When that will be only God knows. It will be really fast when it is though.
Texas_Ace is offline  
post #8 of 536 (permalink) Old July 29th, 2012, 08:51
Registered User
 
baver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cincinnati OH
Age: 27
Posts: 231
OldTrader Rating: (14)
can't wait to see how this turns out!
baver is offline  
post #9 of 536 (permalink) Old July 29th, 2012, 09:07 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 33
Posts: 677
OldTrader Rating: (6)
Buying the whole car ensures I get full wiring harness and all sensors and such that I need. Also gives me bits of exhaust to help make the system, access to factory engine mount locations, two sets of axle shafts (since that will probably be the most difficult aspect to sort), and gauge cluster.

Car has a blown transmission.
widebodystarlet is offline  
post #10 of 536 (permalink) Old July 29th, 2012, 09:19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southie!
Age: 53
Posts: 3,185
OldTrader Rating: (19)
you going to use forced induction? I think stock is < 300HP.
Smurfcrusher is offline  
post #11 of 536 (permalink) Old July 29th, 2012, 14:17 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 33
Posts: 677
OldTrader Rating: (6)
stock is 305hp or something, running base for the first year, forced induction once it has been fully enjoyed. Plus 300hp is a lot considering how much the car weighs and it's relatively short to begin with wheelbase. I prefer to drive my cars vigorously and not have them as track only or show queens. Everything needs to be useable. This is another reason I've chosen the v8; forced induction on the v6 would've been nice, but i prefer more bottom end and a better base to build off of.
widebodystarlet is offline  
post #12 of 536 (permalink) Old July 31st, 2012, 10:49
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 345
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Hp is for bragging rites in the bar, Torque is where it's at

~300hp yes but a matching 300ft/lb torque .... That'll pull the skin off my mums custard!
dgh938peg is offline  
post #13 of 536 (permalink) Old July 31st, 2012, 11:27
Don't mess with Texas
 
Texas_Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19,880
OldTrader Rating: (31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgh938peg
Hp is for bragging rites in the bar, Torque is where it's at

~300hp yes but a matching 300ft/lb torque .... That'll pull the skin off my mums custard!
HP is just a calculation of torque, having the same or more torque then HP simply means that your motor doesn't flow very well causing power to peak early and also drop off early.

I prefer efficient engines that have the highest possible VE throughout the RPM band, had enough of the big torque game with American V8's to last me for some time.

That said a V8 would be a lot of fun in a lightweight car like an MR2, great for autocross. Traction will be a problem though.
Texas_Ace is offline  
post #14 of 536 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2012, 02:22
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 345
OldTrader Rating: (0)
I dont disagree, but i think 300hp (ideal street MR2 hp) and 300tq will make an amazing setup Tex! One without the other (hp without torque or torque without hp) is no either. Add into that what should be an improved weight distribution with the bulk of the engine being forward of the axle, it should be a pretty sweet drive
dgh938peg is offline  
post #15 of 536 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2012, 02:58
Registered User
 
filonin_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Highlands, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 8,745
OldTrader Rating: (11)
I wonder if bigger valves would help with the top end, and if such valves are even available.
filonin_2 is offline  
post #16 of 536 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2012, 03:12
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 345
OldTrader Rating: (0)
There's loads available in Europe for this Audi V8 .... Ok it's the B7 RS4 platform but listen to this.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBkX8GS5FoY

They're very desirable to tuners because there's loads of them becoming Very VERY cheap over hear because of fuel prices.... We are around $8 a US gallon now... So running a car that does 15mpg ain't all that much fun!

Barely broken in
http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classifi...30as?logcode=p
dgh938peg is offline  
post #17 of 536 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2012, 03:48
Registered User
 
filonin_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Highlands, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 8,745
OldTrader Rating: (11)
Jesus Christ, the motor sounds incredible! That motor in a mki would be insane/amazing/perfect. 535hp supercharged v8 spinning to 8,250 rpm FTW. It's only on 6.5 psi too.



I don't see a price listed so it's probably crazy, but it looks like it uses a twinscrew, so it may not be all that hard to replicate for someone who is already swapping the motor into an mr2.

Last edited by filonin_2; August 1st, 2012 at 03:51.
filonin_2 is offline  
post #18 of 536 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2012, 04:34
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 345
OldTrader Rating: (0)
I did find a price for the conversion a while back and recall it being something in the order of ?35'000 for the engine work alone.....
dgh938peg is offline  
post #19 of 536 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2012, 15:13
Registered User
 
filonin_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Highlands, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 8,745
OldTrader Rating: (11)
The internals are stock according to the description, with a Lyshom twinscrew replacing the intake manifold and a W2A IC.
filonin_2 is offline  
post #20 of 536 (permalink) Old August 2nd, 2012, 22:29 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 33
Posts: 677
OldTrader Rating: (6)
I did some work. Mostly just getting at the engine and removing the unnecessary components.
widebodystarlet is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MR2 Owners Club Message Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: (0 members)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome