MR2 with viper v10 - MR2 Owners Club Message Board
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 67 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2012, 10:39 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 28
Posts: 8
OldTrader Rating: (0)
MR2 with viper v10

Hello hello!

My name is Petter Dammen, and i live in the cold country of Norway

I have been working on my Toyota mr2 for a good time now, and i am planing to do a engine swap.

BUT i could relly use some help from someone who has already done a swap.

I am wondering, will a viper v10 fit into a mr2? or a corvette ls1?
And what transmissions is the best to use with these type of engines in an mr2?

Thank you
MRPETTER is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 67 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2012, 10:59 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 28
Posts: 8
OldTrader Rating: (0)
sorry i didnt write this, but im planning to do a "north-south" mounting of the engine
MRPETTER is offline  
post #3 of 67 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2012, 12:42
engineer4me
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 38
Posts: 2,730
OldTrader Rating: (13)
Look at what transmissions the Factory Five GTM's are using. Porsche G50 with a ring and pinion swap, Ricardo/Mendeola/Getrag all have transaxles available in the $15-20k range.

post count != knowledge
pablo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 67 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2012, 14:59
Registered User
 
mr2by4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 4,634
OldTrader Rating: (72)
On a non-troll note.
The dimensions of this engine make it unsuitable.
The cost of this engine in Norway makes it a poor choice.
There are alternatives that will work better for less money, including any variety of compact v-8s that come with turbos or can be turbocharged.
If you read some of the other posts in this section, you will find a wide variety of motors that have been tried with varying degrees of success.
mr2by4 is offline  
post #5 of 67 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2012, 15:17 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 28
Posts: 8
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Thanks for every answar
I am sure there are many engiens out there that are easier to fit, and cheaper!
But i have a dream to build my mr2 with a viper engine, and i am only interested in knowing if i can make it fit

And what transmission i shall use
MRPETTER is offline  
post #6 of 67 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2012, 15:20
Registered User
 
mr2by4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 4,634
OldTrader Rating: (72)
MRPETTER, If you want to put a viper in your car and have the money to do so, I would suggest shipping your car to Paul Woods and writting him a very large check. I don't think that it will work, but if anybody can do it, he might be the one...
I think you are making a mistake, but wish you luck!
mr2by4 is offline  
post #7 of 67 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2012, 20:00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Age: 29
Posts: 916
OldTrader Rating: (0)
I have been reading up on the Sard Racing 1UZ-FE and apparently they lengthened the chassis to make it fit in a longitudinal config. I know a good carriage shop could prob do it but it will cost a obscene amount of money. If you want to throw a ton of money at a project I would go Tripple Charged 2GR with a M120 Supercharger and non sequential twin turbos on a anti-lag/missfire system. That would be way more cost effective. No BS that would put you well over 1200hp.
MidnightBlueMR2 is offline  
post #8 of 67 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2012, 21:48
Registered User
 
filonin_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Highlands, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 8,745
OldTrader Rating: (11)
Mr. Peter, the engine is simply too long. You would have to stretch the chassis so much it would look like a limo, not an mr2. That and the custom built transmission this would require would most likely put this silly and terribly handling chopped up mr2 at a cost well north of $75k USD.
filonin_2 is offline  
post #9 of 67 (permalink) Old May 5th, 2012, 10:43
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,005
OldTrader Rating: (15)
Im all for figuring out how to make it work. Couldn't you cut the trunk out and use that as extra space?
MiSterMRTwoo is offline  
post #10 of 67 (permalink) Old May 5th, 2012, 14:18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norway
Age: 29
Posts: 672
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Synes du kan legge ut planene dine p? norske forumet ;P
3rlend is offline  
post #11 of 67 (permalink) Old May 5th, 2012, 18:21
Two Much
click here to visit the sponsor page
 
mister3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: in your bushes
Age: 47
Posts: 20,018
OldTrader Rating: (379)
in order to do a viper v-10 in the MR2 you'd basically have to do it similar to the way the 2jzgte was in the MR2 shell... tube chassis, front engine, RWD.

the viper engine is physically too large to fit any other way. no way to mount it midship unless the chassis was lengthened OR interior compartment reduced to midget size

PLEASE LEARN TO READ

PLEASE DO NOT PM ME. IT IS JUST AS EASY TO EMAIL ME DIRECTLY AS IT IS TO SEND A PM
mister3 is offline  
post #12 of 67 (permalink) Old May 5th, 2012, 18:34
Registered User
 
filonin_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Highlands, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 8,745
OldTrader Rating: (11)
On a serious note for this swap, paul woods has done the measurements, and the new audi trans he found to mount his v12 without firewall mods also allows the 2jz to be mounted https://mr2oc.com/showthread.php?t=41...&highlight=2jz because the 2jz is two inches shorter than the v12. So a 2jz in a mkii with no firewall mods is possible now. Also, mechanicgram has fitted a 2jz in a mkii, with AWD too and only had to mod the center tunnel and firewall slightly https://mr2oc.com/showthread.php?t=44...&highlight=2jz.

So, how long is the Viper v10? I'm guessing still too long, but at least it's not insane to check now.

Last edited by filonin_2; May 5th, 2012 at 18:36.
filonin_2 is offline  
post #13 of 67 (permalink) Old May 5th, 2012, 19:29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Covington, LA
Age: 48
Posts: 9,170
OldTrader Rating: (4)
It will not fit unless the chassis is cut and stretched. Probably a good bit. As far as the MR2 Spyder transmission, the Viper engine would eat it for breakfast and crap it out of its exhaust. This is probably the closest you can get.
http://www.hennesseyperformance.com/venomgt.html
scottgas is offline  
post #14 of 67 (permalink) Old May 5th, 2012, 21:54
engineer4me
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 38
Posts: 2,730
OldTrader Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by filonin_2
On a serious note for this swap, paul woods has done the measurements, and the new audi trans he found to mount his v12 without firewall mods also allows the 2jz to be mounted https://mr2oc.com/showthread.php?t=41...&highlight=2jz because the 2jz is two inches shorter than the v12. So a 2jz in a mkii with no firewall mods is possible now. Also, mechanicgram has fitted a 2jz in a mkii, with AWD too and only had to mod the center tunnel and firewall slightly https://mr2oc.com/showthread.php?t=44...&highlight=2jz.

So, how long is the Viper v10? I'm guessing still too long, but at least it's not insane to check now.
I don't think Paul Woods was planning on leaving the firewall unmodified for the V12, his post here implies he has the V12 down to 27 inches: https://mr2oc.com/showpost.php?p=4613769&postcount=31

but cbulens measurements here say it's 20.5 inches from the factory axle centerline to the firewall: https://mr2oc.com/showpost.php?p=4656967&postcount=86

Even with that new Audi transaxle with output shafts on the bellhousing mounting surface, their centerline is still probably three inches back from the mounting surface itself. I know you can shift it back a little at the expense of CV joint longevity, but nowhere near the amount necessary to allow a 2JZ/V10/V12 to fit without cabin intrusion. This thread indicates a Viper V10 is 36 inches long : http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/vipe...nts-21674.html

so even with Audi transaxle, to keep the passenger compartment intact it would mean extending the wheelbase at least a foot. I'm not so sure that it's a bad thing, because there aren't too many REALLY fast cars with wheelbases as short as the MR2.

OP, you're just going to have to deal with the hate until you show you are capable of doing what you're saying. Put up or shut up, as they say. Tis the nature of forums.
pablo is offline  
post #15 of 67 (permalink) Old May 6th, 2012, 03:11 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 28
Posts: 8
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pablo
I don't think Paul Woods was planning on leaving the firewall unmodified for the V12, his post here implies he has the V12 down to 27 inches: https://mr2oc.com/showpost.php?p=4613769&postcount=31

but cbulens measurements here say it's 20.5 inches from the factory axle centerline to the firewall: https://mr2oc.com/showpost.php?p=4656967&postcount=86

Even with that new Audi transaxle with output shafts on the bellhousing mounting surface, their centerline is still probably three inches back from the mounting surface itself. I know you can shift it back a little at the expense of CV joint longevity, but nowhere near the amount necessary to allow a 2JZ/V10/V12 to fit without cabin intrusion. This thread indicates a Viper V10 is 36 inches long : http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/vipe...nts-21674.html

so even with Audi transaxle, to keep the passenger compartment intact it would mean extending the wheelbase at least a foot. I'm not so sure that it's a bad thing, because there aren't too many REALLY fast cars with wheelbases as short as the MR2.

OP, you're just going to have to deal with the hate until you show you are capable of doing what you're saying. Put up or shut up, as they say. Tis the nature of forums.
Thanks for the link


I found the engine measurements to be:

24 " Wide, outside of Valve Covers, which is widest part if you remove the stock exhaust manifolds.

27" High overall.

34" long, front of crank shaft pully to rear of block where you would mount the bell housing.

I measured them up to the size of my mr2, and found out that it should be possible if the firewall is moved a huge foot or so forward, but I really dont know what transmission to use?
MRPETTER is offline  
post #16 of 67 (permalink) Old May 6th, 2012, 06:30
Registered User
 
mr2by4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 4,634
OldTrader Rating: (72)
What direction would you mount this motor? That dictates your transmission choices.
Not to be rude, but do you have the $40k Euros or so that it will take to get this done? Do you have a source for the motor in Norway? You do realize that when choosing a dream motor, the Viper motor is not very laudable. It is large, but not particularly impressive. Some notes from wikipedia.
"It was based on the Chrysler LA design, which was a truck engine"
and
"The engine weighed 711 lb (323 kg) and produced 400 bhp (300 kW) at 4600 rpm and 465 lb?ft (630 N?m) at 3600 rpm" (year models 92-95)
they updated to
"the 1996 to 2002 Viper GTS had a lighter (approximately 650 lb (290 kg)) 450 bhp (340 kW) engine"
in the next generation,
"with other upgrades, increased output to 500 bhp (370 kW) and 525 lb?ft (712 N?m). Despite the power increases, engine weight was reduced to about 500 lb (230 kg)."
and in the last generation,
"with the introduction of the 510 cu in (8.4 L) V10, the Viper produced 600 bhp (450 kW) at 6000 rpm and 560 lb?ft (760 N?m) at 5100 rpm"
Assuming you get the best version, you still might be better off purchasing a GM LS7. It is 50-100 lbs lighter, cheaper and produces "505 hp (377 kW) at 6300 rpm and 470 lb?ft (640 N?m) at 4800 rpm ".
I would suggest further reading about motors and study of the engine bay restrictions of the mr2. I might also point out that an MR2 with a viper motor would need a second fuel tank, or would have a range of under 200 miles on the highway and much less in actual driving.
mr2by4 is offline  
post #17 of 67 (permalink) Old May 6th, 2012, 10:50
engineer4me
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 38
Posts: 2,730
OldTrader Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRPETTER
but I really dont know what transmission to use?
Look at all the links to the threads regarding Paul Woods. The new Audi FWD gearboxes would allow the shortest possible setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr2by4
You do realize that when choosing a dream motor, the Viper motor is not very laudable. It is large, but not particularly impressive.
I agree with this completely. The new Ford Coyote motor might be a better choice, lighter and sounds ten times better, as well as probably being easier to package. Or a LSx engine. Or even an Audi motor since it bolts right to the gearbox.

I think most of these threads amount to mental masturbation anyway. Why not a BMW V10 out of a M5/M6?
pablo is offline  
post #18 of 67 (permalink) Old May 6th, 2012, 11:20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NW metro...
Age: 52
Posts: 4,057
OldTrader Rating: (8)
I'd go with a 911 flat
Raising Arizona is offline  
post #19 of 67 (permalink) Old May 6th, 2012, 11:27
engineer4me
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 38
Posts: 2,730
OldTrader Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raising Arizona
I'd go with a 911 flat
I've pondered a Subaru flat four. There are people who have eliminated the rear output on the transmission and used them in mid engine kit cars. I think it's what Factory Five intends to do with their new '818' kit car: http://www.factoryfive.com/galleries/project-818/

Significantly cheaper than the Porsche as well.
pablo is offline  
post #20 of 67 (permalink) Old May 6th, 2012, 13:17
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Quincy, MA
Age: 33
Posts: 4,600
OldTrader Rating: (15)
You guys laugh, people do CRAZY engine swaps in Europe!! I wouldn't put it past this guy to do it, not one bit!
Turbowned is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MR2 Owners Club Message Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: (0 members)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome