My V12 Mk2 swap - Page 6 - MR2 Owners Club Message Board
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #101 of 157 (permalink) Old April 4th, 2011, 11:14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh / Durham NC
Age: 40
Posts: 4,919
OldTrader Rating: (12)
Look at how long that exhaust port is inside the head!
must be interesting manifolds in/out when every other port has 4 extra inches inside the casting.
how much extea heat do those cylinders shed into the head too!
Jared is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #102 of 157 (permalink) Old April 4th, 2011, 22:39
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 204
OldTrader Rating: (1)
The W16 engine is a beast it uses 10 radiators for its cooling system! Just watched the top gear episode .
Jordanf is offline  
post #103 of 157 (permalink) Old April 5th, 2011, 13:14
Gold Level
 
eazy2001x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Age: 39
Posts: 9,213
OldTrader Rating: (41)
edit...

sorry.. this should have been a PM..

Last edited by eazy2001x; April 5th, 2011 at 13:17.
eazy2001x is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #104 of 157 (permalink) Old April 28th, 2011, 16:03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Desert Feet
Age: 34
Posts: 105
OldTrader Rating: (1)
w12 amist the sw20 chassis?

three letters bill, WOW
kuromr2 is offline  
post #105 of 157 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2011, 13:00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 10
OldTrader Rating: (0)
if you can put a v12 in an MK2, then a 2jz would be possible to?
i always thougt it would be impossible to do that swap!
roald is offline  
post #106 of 157 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2011, 13:07 Thread Starter
Woodsport.org
click here to visit the sponsor page
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: uk
Age: 49
Posts: 1,767
OldTrader Rating: (7)
Yes that swap should now be possible using this new transmission, providing the starter motor clears the 2jz block then it will fit, that engine is 2" shorter than the V12.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
paul woods is offline  
post #107 of 157 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2011, 13:42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh / Durham NC
Age: 40
Posts: 4,919
OldTrader Rating: (12)
will this tranny let n/s swaps into mk3's occur with no cabin intrusion?
Jared is offline  
post #108 of 157 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2011, 13:50 Thread Starter
Woodsport.org
click here to visit the sponsor page
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: uk
Age: 49
Posts: 1,767
OldTrader Rating: (7)
No I'm afraid not, a mk3 will still need the intrusion


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
paul woods is offline  
post #109 of 157 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2011, 15:23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 260
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Paul, how much are these transmissions going for? Cheapest I can find stateside is $1500.
justinswidebody is offline  
post #110 of 157 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2011, 15:41 Thread Starter
Woodsport.org
click here to visit the sponsor page
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: uk
Age: 49
Posts: 1,767
OldTrader Rating: (7)
About $600 here but shipping will be a killer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
paul woods is offline  
post #111 of 157 (permalink) Old May 3rd, 2011, 22:39
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 260
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Paul , the guys on the kit car forums want to know the length of this transmission. Could you help me out?
justinswidebody is offline  
post #112 of 157 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2011, 00:39 Thread Starter
Woodsport.org
click here to visit the sponsor page
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: uk
Age: 49
Posts: 1,767
OldTrader Rating: (7)
I'll measure it later for you Justin, it's much shorter than the older 6 speed.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
paul woods is offline  
post #113 of 157 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2011, 04:55 Thread Starter
Woodsport.org
click here to visit the sponsor page
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: uk
Age: 49
Posts: 1,767
OldTrader Rating: (7)
Its 680mm from the bellhousing face to the furthest most tip of the rear casing, but it has a sticky out bit accounting for about 30mm of that, so the majority of the rear casing is about 650mm from bellhousing face.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
paul woods is offline  
post #114 of 157 (permalink) Old May 4th, 2011, 06:06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 260
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Thanks Paul.
justinswidebody is offline  
post #115 of 157 (permalink) Old May 27th, 2011, 13:57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Mateo, CA
Age: 35
Posts: 4,486
OldTrader Rating: (17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul woods
No I'm afraid not, a mk3 will still need the intrusion
Did you measure the max possible distance from firewall to axle center?

I am just wonder it is just a small intrusion/access panel, or removing the gas tank and all that stuff?

Of course I am talking v8, not 10, 12, 16 etc
uspspro is offline  
post #116 of 157 (permalink) Old May 30th, 2011, 07:24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 337
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Paul - I have only one question for you, oh Grandmaster.

Can I borrow the keys Guv?
scottgze is offline  
post #117 of 157 (permalink) Old July 3rd, 2011, 19:03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 439
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Would this bolt up to a 2gr if you were to go longitudinal with it? The transmission that is.
19Mark90 is offline  
post #118 of 157 (permalink) Old July 3rd, 2011, 20:06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austin TX
Age: 32
Posts: 609
OldTrader Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Mark90
Would this bolt up to a 2gr if you were to go longitudinal with it? The transmission that is.
I doubt PW has tried it, but given that this is a VW transmission I think it's safe to say it won't "bolt on" to a Toyota motor. You'd need to make an adaptor plate, which would lengthen the whole assembly and negate it's advantage. Lucckily the 2GR WILL bolt up to the trans that comes in the car...
Lime-Light is offline  
post #119 of 157 (permalink) Old July 5th, 2011, 13:16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 439
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lime-Light
I doubt PW has tried it, but given that this is a VW transmission I think it's safe to say it won't "bolt on" to a Toyota motor. You'd need to make an adaptor plate, which would lengthen the whole assembly and negate it's advantage. Lucckily the 2GR WILL bolt up to the trans that comes in the car...
Oh I know, but I was just thinking it would be awesome to have a longitudinal V6.
19Mark90 is offline  
post #120 of 157 (permalink) Old July 12th, 2011, 15:14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North East UK---- The Reaper
Age: 37
Posts: 2,992
OldTrader Rating: (5)
Any updates on this Paul?

Graeme
^Trickster^ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MR2 Owners Club Message Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: (0 members)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome