General 'Yota, Toyolet, or GMR2? - Page 2 - MR2 Owners Club Message Board
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #21 of 105 (permalink) Old July 25th, 2010, 03:34
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montrose CO
Age: 26
Posts: 6,210
OldTrader Rating: (32)
mk1noob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 105 (permalink) Old July 25th, 2010, 03:43
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montrose CO
Age: 26
Posts: 6,210
OldTrader Rating: (32)
looking over it again, dont you think you could raise the engine a couple more inches? it looks a little lower then needed? or is that just the pics?
mk1noob is offline  
post #23 of 105 (permalink) Old July 25th, 2010, 03:45 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Thanks. Today was SO encouraging. I'll be spending time tomorrow designing and maybe starting to build the cradle I'm envisioning that will make dropping the engine and trans a 1 hour affair. I'll call around on Monday to get prices on having the axles cut and re-splined. After that, not much more $ needed except for a fuel pump designed for a returnless fuel system. I hope tomorrow goes as well as today did.

Some of the angles made it look lower than it really was. Look at the shot from the pass side of the front of the engine. I could go higher, but not much if I want my axles to last. They're just about perfectly lined up where I'm planning on hanging it.

Last edited by blueblur; July 25th, 2010 at 03:48.
blueblur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 105 (permalink) Old July 25th, 2010, 13:45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: cincinnati
Age: 39
Posts: 162
OldTrader Rating: (0)
I found this detailed swap thread into a fiero. it has a lot of great information.

http://www.gmtuners.com/LS4/index.htm
deelymc is offline  
post #25 of 105 (permalink) Old July 25th, 2010, 16:44 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Deelymc, thanks. I've been looking that over for a few months as well as watching what the folks here have been doing with modifying the engine bay while sticking with a transverse layout.

Bill, I think I'm going to go with HP Tuning after I get it all in.

http://www.hptuners.com/products/vcmsuite.php

Last edited by blueblur; July 25th, 2010 at 16:47.
blueblur is offline  
post #26 of 105 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2010, 10:40
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno NV
Age: 47
Posts: 2,497
OldTrader Rating: (19)
with my project, I discovered that I could move the engine a LOT further forward if I removed a lot of the crap that is bolted to the MR2 firewall--fuel filler pipe, heat sheild, fiberglass, brake lines, etc.

Once I moved the engine forward, I found that no cutting of the car was needed. Custom fuel filler pipe required and re-routed brake lines, re-routed heater core pipes, and so on.

Have you tried that?

Also, do you have room to move the engine towards the right side of the car? (mabye after you move it forward?)
cbulen is offline  
post #27 of 105 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2010, 11:57 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
So far I have not moved the filler tube or the heater core pipes, but I plan to. It looks like I'll gain at least 2" by doing that. I'd like to figure out the filler soon to keep it away from the exhaust. I did remove a little sheetmetal from the bottom of the rear firewall for exhaust clearance, and I'm flattening out the passenger side strut tower for extra clearance at the pulleys. I'll try to remember to take some pictures later today.

Last edited by blueblur; August 1st, 2010 at 12:17.
blueblur is offline  
post #28 of 105 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2010, 12:17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno NV
Age: 47
Posts: 2,497
OldTrader Rating: (19)
I cut most of the "webbing" (or whatever its called) off of the inside of the right shock tower, just under where the engine lid prop rod plugs into that webbing. In my case, it helped clear the rear cylinder head and a sensor.

In my case, moving the engine forward gave me all the pulley and belt clearance I needed. It might help you too.

Curious, what is the overall width of your drive train, as measured from the furthest right point on the crank pulley (possibly the crank pulley bolt head) to the left most edge of the transaxle?

The 3S/E153 combo is 36 inches if memory serves. The N*/F40 is 37', IIRC
cbulen is offline  
post #29 of 105 (permalink) Old August 1st, 2010, 12:57 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
I believe it's 34 1/2". The trans is a little under 11" wide from where it bolts to the engine to the spot where a mount can bolt to it. Makes for easier packaging.
blueblur is offline  
post #30 of 105 (permalink) Old August 2nd, 2010, 17:14 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
I didn't have a lot of time for the car this past weekend, but I did a little trimming around where I felt I could use a little extra breathing room.
First:

Then:

Up next:

I want to remove as much as possible to get the engine mounted up, then reinstall it all (or replace with new material) according to the space that's left. I'll likely make the fuel filler be under the engine lid somewhere, since the front exhaust manifold sits so close to the stock filler pipe location. After the engine is mounted, I'll take pics of the leftover clearance and see where to proceed after that.

Last edited by blueblur; August 2nd, 2010 at 17:16.
blueblur is offline  
post #31 of 105 (permalink) Old September 15th, 2010, 00:30
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 44
Posts: 202
OldTrader Rating: (1)
Good luck to you sir.
I cant wait to see every step.
mobi is offline  
post #32 of 105 (permalink) Old September 16th, 2010, 13:49 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Thanks. I've been busy with work, and only having one lift has been a problem. I'll be posting info and pics with any progress.
blueblur is offline  
post #33 of 105 (permalink) Old November 17th, 2010, 14:54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 38
Posts: 5,392
OldTrader Rating: (69)
Any updates?
AndrewMcG is offline  
post #34 of 105 (permalink) Old November 17th, 2010, 16:47 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Not yet. It sits awaiting some free time. Right now my focus is on keeping my business alive, so fun projects are on the back burner for at least a few more weeks if not a month. It WILL get done, but isn't a priority right now. As soon as I get the time I'll be moving forward with it and posting pics and details. Nobody wants it done more than I.
blueblur is offline  
post #35 of 105 (permalink) Old November 19th, 2010, 18:41
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Leon, Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 1,262
OldTrader Rating: (19)
I actually had this same platform idea for my MK1. Didn't have the means or resources to do it as well as I didn't want to hack up a car I put so much time and money into. I hope this works out for you though because the LSX platform of engines are stout and have a lot of aftermarket stuff out there. Would this happen to be a DOD equipped engine? That was one thing about the LS4 I was 50/50 on. Putting in a different cam would require a fair amount of work and research to get rid of the DOD system. But on the other hand if you could wire it up such as the MK1 ZE motor guys do the S/C clutch you could turn your car into a 4cly whenver you wanted. It has more than enough power to push around a MK1 or 2 in 4cyl. In stock form though it will be a beast with over 300whp once you get rid of the power steering and throw a intake and free flowing exhaust on.
ThatDylanGuy is offline  
post #36 of 105 (permalink) Old November 19th, 2010, 18:48
engineer4me
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 38
Posts: 2,730
OldTrader Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatDylanGuy
Would this happen to be a DOD equipped engine? That was one thing about the LS4 I was 50/50 on. Putting in a different cam would require a fair amount of work and research to get rid of the DOD system. But on the other hand if you could wire it up such as the MK1 ZE motor guys do the S/C clutch you could turn your car into a 4cly whenver you wanted. It has more than enough power to push around a MK1 or 2 in 4cyl. In stock form though it will be a beast with over 300whp once you get rid of the power steering and throw a intake and free flowing exhaust on.
The DOD is incredibly easy to get rid of. A cam swap, the lifters, and the valley cover and it's gone. 300whp is probably a cam swap too, and I hope you mean the intake manifold itself, cause the stock LS4 piece is a MAJOR restriction.
pablo is offline  
post #37 of 105 (permalink) Old November 19th, 2010, 19:04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Leon, Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 1,262
OldTrader Rating: (19)
Guess I'll put my foot in my mouth for not doing the research before saying anything. And I wasn't talking about the manifold but you are right.
ThatDylanGuy is offline  
post #38 of 105 (permalink) Old November 19th, 2010, 21:20 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatDylanGuy
I actually had this same platform idea for my MK1. Didn't have the means or resources to do it as well as I didn't want to hack up a car I put so much time and money into. I hope this works out for you though because the LSX platform of engines are stout and have a lot of aftermarket stuff out there. Would this happen to be a DOD equipped engine? That was one thing about the LS4 I was 50/50 on. Putting in a different cam would require a fair amount of work and research to get rid of the DOD system. But on the other hand if you could wire it up such as the MK1 ZE motor guys do the S/C clutch you could turn your car into a 4cly whenver you wanted. It has more than enough power to push around a MK1 or 2 in 4cyl. In stock form though it will be a beast with over 300whp once you get rid of the power steering and throw a intake and free flowing exhaust on.
Like Pablo pointed out, deleting the DOD feature isn't difficult. I'm choosing to wait to use the HP tuner first to fiddle with it to see if I like it first. I've already swapped the stock IM out for an LQ4 IM. From the research I've done it appears to flow similar to an LS6 IM. It's ugly, but it was cheap and will better work with my plans for a turbo later with it's longer runners for better low end prior to spooling up. I'm shooting for a larger turbo that'll hopefully come on a little later to allow for some semblance of traction first and be capable of flowing decent air up to 7K RPM. Figuring out how to utilize the DOD alongside the boost will be interesting. Some folks with LS4 cars say they can hardly tell when the DOD is switching, but I'm sure when it switches in mine and the boost gauge drops by half I'll know fairly easily. It's likely that I'll ultimately remove the DOD function, but I figure it's worth a try. LS4 cars see a couple of MPG improvement in their heavier cars: I'm hoping for at least 5, maybe 10. I can't see not driving this car literally every chance I get, so it may come in handy. Nobody's more excited than me to get this project driving (it'll never truly be "finished" ), so expect to hear more on this as I get the time to devote to it.
blueblur is offline  
post #39 of 105 (permalink) Old November 22nd, 2010, 15:25
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 345
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Christ on a bike!!! 5.3l V8 transverse install!!! Best 'o' luck + well and truly subscribed!
dgh938peg is offline  
post #40 of 105 (permalink) Old January 3rd, 2011, 12:50 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 44
Posts: 90
OldTrader Rating: (0)
OK. Closing my shop down at the end of the month, so the only thing on the agenda is finishing up the 2. Stay tuned.....
blueblur is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MR2 Owners Club Message Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: (0 members)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome