World's first (second?) V8 2nd generation MR2! - Page 5 - MR2 Owners Club Message Board
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #81 of 115 (permalink) Old January 16th, 2009, 06:11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 149
OldTrader Rating: (5)
No one has video yet????

Greg
mopwer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #82 of 115 (permalink) Old January 16th, 2009, 10:16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Age: 38
Posts: 793
OldTrader Rating: (2)
Mike, we could meet up between Gainesville and Jacksonville and I could snap a bunch of pics and video for you and the wanting crowd. I could even post up a page for your build and car on FLMR2s.com if you would like.
ESPMR2Mike is offline  
post #83 of 115 (permalink) Old January 16th, 2009, 16:09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 1,058
OldTrader Rating: (17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike H
I still have to deal with the sway bar. The transmission came right through were the old one was so the car doesn't have one right now. I haven't pushed it real hard yet but amazingly it seems to handle very well in spite of not having one. If you are willing to post the pictures I will take them. What do you want pictures of?
sick car.. hope to see a vid
a thicker front bar will help plant the rear of the vehicle if you have issues.. if you need run slightly stiffer rear springs. dont think you will need a rear bar

i would love to see the car featured grass roots motorsports mag - i think the grm offices are near you

Last edited by race4eva; January 16th, 2009 at 16:32.
race4eva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #84 of 115 (permalink) Old January 21st, 2009, 07:41
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
OldTrader Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESPMR2Mike
Mike, we could meet up between Gainesville and Jacksonville and I could snap a bunch of pics and video for you and the wanting crowd. I could even post up a page for your build and car on FLMR2s.com if you would like.
I appreciate your offer. My engine has developed a miss and I am in the process of trying to sort it out. I just sent my injectors off to get serviced. Give me a couple of weeks to get this sorted out and I will get in touch with you and we will meet up.
Mike H is offline  
post #85 of 115 (permalink) Old January 22nd, 2009, 13:20
Registered User
 
Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NW Sticks
Posts: 1,492
OldTrader Rating: (11)
Absolutely amazing!
Looks surprisingly clean as well, good job man.
i'll echo the thoughts of most of us...(im)patiently waiting for video...
Thunder is offline  
post #86 of 115 (permalink) Old February 9th, 2009, 07:59
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
OldTrader Rating: (1)
Thought I would post an up date. I developed an engine miss and have been trying to locate the cause. I sent my injectors off to be cleaned and checked. That didn?t change anything. The miss started to became more of a violent miss, like if you turned the ignition on and off very quickly. The data log started showing the timing was moving around a lot. I put a timing light on it and sure enough when the engine missed the timing moved around. I replaced both of the sensors that give the ecu it timing reference and that didn?t improve anything. I changed out all the wiring and increased the gauge on all the ground as well as the power wires. That hasn?t helped either. I have decided it is an ecu problem and I am sending the ecu back to be checked out. Hopefully I will be up and running in a couple of weeks.
Mike H is offline  
post #87 of 115 (permalink) Old February 9th, 2009, 10:37 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno NV
Age: 47
Posts: 2,497
OldTrader Rating: (19)
Hi Mike,

I am curious, did you set up the VEMS to activate the secondary intake manifold runners (the thing that works just like Toyota TVIS) ?

I am only asking out of curiousity, not for diagnosis. Maybe Hilly can help on the diagnosis ?
cbulen is offline  
post #88 of 115 (permalink) Old February 9th, 2009, 10:55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
OldTrader Rating: (1)
Hi Chris,
Hilly and I have been working on this together for the last two months. As for the secondary runners they are controlled by vacuum. The vems does use vacuum and throttle position sensors to control the spark advance and fuel delivery. We have systematically eliminated everything but the ecu. I am sending it back to hilly and he is going to bench test it and then put it on his car for the finial test. He is quite sure that it is the vems and he knows were the problem is.
Mike H is offline  
post #89 of 115 (permalink) Old February 9th, 2009, 11:00 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno NV
Age: 47
Posts: 2,497
OldTrader Rating: (19)
Sounds good Mike, I hope you get it figured out. That sucks after all that work and its a problem with a component that should work out of the box.

I decided to go with a GM aftermarket ECU for my Northstar.
cbulen is offline  
post #90 of 115 (permalink) Old March 4th, 2009, 10:46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Age: 36
Posts: 5
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike H
Hi Chris,
Hilly and I have been working on this together for the last two months. As for the secondary runners they are controlled by vacuum. The vems does use vacuum and throttle position sensors to control the spark advance and fuel delivery. We have systematically eliminated everything but the ecu. I am sending it back to hilly and he is going to bench test it and then put it on his car for the finial test. He is quite sure that it is the vems and he knows were the problem is.

Hi Mike, what happens with the VEMS ECU problem. Also is there more updates no the project.
Bob
bobcho is offline  
post #91 of 115 (permalink) Old March 4th, 2009, 11:27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
OldTrader Rating: (1)
I sent the ecu out and he put it on a simulator and could not find anything wrong with it. He then put it on his engine which is the exact same engine as mine and could not get it to throw one trigger error. I have to believe it is not an ecu problem at this point because it had gotten progressively worse on my engine to the point that I could not drive the car anymore. I have not gotten the ecu back yet but when I do I have a couple of things I want to try. If they don?t work I will have to pull the engine and look very carefully at my trigger wheel. Unfortunately I don?t have room to work on it in the car. Right now I don?t know what else it could be. I have replaced the crank trigger sensor the cam position sensor and rewired the whole system. I even disconnected the alternator thinking that it was causing electrical interference. At this point I am very frustrated. I will get it fixed but this is not something anybody wants to deal with when they get a swap up and running
Mike H is offline  
post #92 of 115 (permalink) Old March 6th, 2009, 08:14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Age: 36
Posts: 5
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Very sad to hear that. But I`m shure you will clear it. Good luck and we are waiting for the next photos or videos of this amaizing swap.
Bob
bobcho is offline  
post #93 of 115 (permalink) Old March 6th, 2009, 12:27 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno NV
Age: 47
Posts: 2,497
OldTrader Rating: (19)
Yah, the engine management should be a non-issue on these types of swaps as it should have been the easiest part of the whole project!

I am sorry to hear about it too.

We're rootin' for ya Mike. Hang in there.
cbulen is offline  
post #94 of 115 (permalink) Old March 12th, 2009, 13:41
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Age: 44
Posts: 51
OldTrader Rating: (0)
have you tried to use a a few layers of sound proofing like dynamat to help reduced the engine noise ?
nutty1 is offline  
post #95 of 115 (permalink) Old March 12th, 2009, 14:03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
OldTrader Rating: (1)
I have put one layer on and have plans to do more, but right now all of that is on the back burner until I get the engine miss sorted out. I got my ecu back last night and now I will be working to figure out what the problem is.
Mike H is offline  
post #96 of 115 (permalink) Old March 12th, 2009, 17:04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Age: 44
Posts: 51
OldTrader Rating: (0)
i wonder if a bad knock sensor could cause misfire issue
nutty1 is offline  
post #97 of 115 (permalink) Old March 12th, 2009, 18:22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
OldTrader Rating: (1)
I thought of that and turned the knock sensor function off. It didn?t make any difference. I have come to the conclusion that it must have something to do with my trigger wheel. Unfortunately I will have to pull the engine to get to it. I have a couple of things I am going to try first. If they don?t work the engine will be coming out.
Mike H is offline  
post #98 of 115 (permalink) Old March 13th, 2009, 12:22 Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno NV
Age: 47
Posts: 2,497
OldTrader Rating: (19)
Mike, you didn't put the trigger wheel on the front pulley like Hilly did on his Lotus project?
cbulen is offline  
post #99 of 115 (permalink) Old March 13th, 2009, 16:26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada/Montreal
Age: 35
Posts: 28
OldTrader Rating: (0)
First, I must say that since the first mr2 v8 i saw i felt in love with it since im a big v8 fan :P. That car has been done wisely and with lot of patience and passion.I admire you.Sad that you get a problem with it and that it seems hard to find out . But i feel you'll find it soon, since you build this setup and you really really seems to know what you doing. My biggest concern about making those kind of swap are those kind of issues.I'm not really good at finding where problems comes from and i'm not very good in electricity.I have good bases but stays here i guess lol.
I wish you best of luck to solve that problem and get that beauty running.

Btw cbulen i thought you were going for the same engine as Mike but i seen like 3 times you talking about Northstar. The first mr2 v8 ive seen on the net years ago was with a v8 Northstar. But i'm confused which one will you be using? I maybe misunderstood but i think you said you will try to put the northstar to see and do it with the Audi engine later??
Anyone know approx how much lenght is a 302 ?? :P I love some much the sound of the American Block but i think german engineering is better :P
On this good luck to all with your crazy project , can't wait to see some vids too .
The snow starting to melt here, can't wait to drive my baby's !!!!
StoneDSoldiaR is offline  
post #100 of 115 (permalink) Old March 13th, 2009, 16:36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada/Montreal
Age: 35
Posts: 28
OldTrader Rating: (0)
oh cbulen i'll read your thread so i'll prolly get my answer there :P
StoneDSoldiaR is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MR2 Owners Club Message Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: (0 members)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome