MR2 Owners Club Forum banner

Gen3 CA smog

5K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  L0s7 
#1 ·
Hey,
I just wanted to ask and see if anybody was able to pass a smog with gen3 in CA? Stock gen3 engine, not top mount turbo or aftermarket blow off valve. Stock without EGR. To pass the proper way. I assume not but just curious.
Thank you.

#2 ·
I would be interested in this as well. I know there are some members who passed a Gen2 on Gen3 electronics. My guess is based on the thoroughness of the visual (EGR) you may/may not pass...? I'm still new to CA so not totally familiar with smog here. Just had my car smogged but I can't recall if they tested the EGR or just looked at it.

I vaguely recall CRW being able to tap/place EGR's on Gen3's from reading around (but not totally sure), so that might be an option?

#3 ·
Those that have gotten by visual inspection have usually passed the sniff test provided they have a good cat installed. For extra insurance you can put 1.5-2gal of E85 in a full tank- it should reduce NOX due to cooler burn and won't change (even marginally improve) HC and NO. However, the gen3 runs fairly lean up til around 4kRPM, so I strongly recommend NOT driving hard until that tank has been burned and refilled with regular pump gas. Particularly with the JDM ecu which runs quite a lot of timing. My data logging with UK parts was kind of worrisome enough.

There are a couple roadblocks to adding EGR aside from just drilling. But it is possible if you're serious enough:
1) As far as I know, the JDM ECU has a small hardware difference on the PCB due to not being setup for EGR. The ROM code presumably doesn't contain the code to operate it, nor does the wiring harness have the connector to plug it in.