2GR-FE stock ECU has been hacked and the immobilizer can be removed! - Page 2 - MR2 Owners Club Message Board
 125Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #21 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 13:20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Utah
Age: 31
Posts: 929
OldTrader Rating: (16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouky View Post
itís way too early to call that, right now we know that the Lotus ECU can handle a supercharger. honestly i probably announced this too early, but i'm so damn excited about where i've gotten i had to spread the word.

Iím pretty confident iíll be able to raise the rev-limiter

Iím also confident iíll be able to clone the TRD ECU. but i may or may not be able to disable the immobilizer on that one. the way i disabled the immobilizer on the highlander is just by copying the secondary memory from a non immobilized highlander and thereís no such thing as a non immobilized TRD ECU. I do feel reasonably confident that i will be able to disable the immobilizer on the TRD ecu.

and even if the immobilizer is solvable the calibration may be difficult to port to a 5 plug, we may be locked into 2 plug ECUs for supercharging.

One thing that is for sure is the Lotus will still be the only route to go for a full CA emissions compliant build. your local emissions regulations may or may not allow you to run this setup. the 2GR is MUCH cleaner than the 3s-gte and the 5s-fe. but not all regulations are written in a way that makes sense. I also don't plan on removing the monitors so the ECU will still fail that kind of test. in fact, if i can figure it out i'd like to leave the emissions faults in there but just make them not illuminate the CEL.
I could tell in your video you were super excited lol. Makes sense though, it's awesome!

Well, watching all these threads like a hawk to see how everything develops.
PearlJammzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 15:36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Concord, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 125
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Is the 2GR Immobilizer just that entwined into the Wire harness/ECU?


it seems so simple on the 2AZ
PseudoKirby is offline  
post #23 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 18:04
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Miramar, Florida
Age: 30
Posts: 493
OldTrader Rating: (50)
Good work Gouky! Subscribed for updates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bentheswift
For me, I don't care what it is -- if it's a big huge money investment, I'm going to learn how to take care of it. Don't matter if it's a vacuum cleaner or a laundry machine or a baby. I don't have to know everything about it. But being that it costs me money and that I need it I'm going to learn the first thing about it.
MGCustoms325 is offline  
 
post #24 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 18:51
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 27
Posts: 143
OldTrader Rating: (4)
f**K yeah

im just as excited to give you money!

i dont think i have the immobilizer issue but i will be sure as hell sending it to you for cel and rpm bump.

with the 2 plug ecu i did notice a change on the board pin out in 2010+ on the rav 4 ecu just something to be mindful i had to change my harness all around to make it work.
bretleg is offline  
post #25 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 19:11 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 2,921
OldTrader Rating: (14)
The immobilizer on the new generation is built into the ECU. the ECU actually stores the key codes and the immobilizer ECU serial number. so it all has to be a matched set. it's no longer a problem. this is a costs savings now.

i used to sell new non immobilizer ECUs for $750 to my customers and now you can buy a $40 ecu on e-bay and give me $100 to remove the immobilizer from it. so the 2GR build just got $600 cheaper!

and now for something interesting, Thanks to Derek i have a TRD Aurion supercharged 2-plug on my desk right now, and it's EXACTLY the same as a rav-4 ecu despite the pinout being different. so i guess the VVT-i pins will move based on the software installed:

donteatbugs likes this.

Last edited by Gouky; May 18th, 2016 at 19:13.
Gouky is online now  
post #26 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 21:53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 157
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Cant wait until i oass ca emission, i waitting for it..
60to0 is offline  
post #27 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 22:23 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 2,921
OldTrader Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 60to0 View Post
Cant wait until i oass ca emission, i waitting for it..
sorry, this will never legitimately pass california emissions with a manual transmission. Only the Lotus ECU solution will be able to do that.

and if you want to use the automatic transmission in your MR2 there's nothing stopping you from passing CA emissions with it right now.

I really don't have any interest in helping people skirt emissions regulations because the EPA is pretty good at ruining the fun for the rest of us if they get pissed off.
Gouky is online now  
post #28 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 22:35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Concord, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 125
OldTrader Rating: (0)
wait so why exactly wont this pass CA emissions? because your deleting the code capability in the ECU and they will detect that?


what if you REFd it as an automatic, then swapped back to manual and used this ECU, no regular tech would know right?
PseudoKirby is offline  
post #29 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 22:39 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 2,921
OldTrader Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PseudoKirby View Post
wait so why exactly wont this pass CA emissions? because your deleting the code capability in the ECU and they will detect that?


what if you REFd it as an automatic, then swapped back to manual and used this ECU, no regular tech would know right?
a few reasons. 1st is it has to have the same transmission as the engine came with. a simple visual inspection will cause a failure there.

2nd is i'm not doing anything about the readiness monitors and i doubt their trip logic will work right without the transmission stuff. I'd be shocked if they ever all go to a "pass" state.

the reason to remove the DTCs is to get a working check engine light so it's worth doing. fixing the readiness monitors is only for cheating emissions and i have no interest in that.

as for passing it with an auto then switching to a manual, it would be *MUCH* cheaper and quicker to just use the Lotus stuff, pass emissions legitimately and keep it that way.
Gouky is online now  
post #30 of 604 (permalink) Old May 18th, 2016, 23:42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Concord, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 125
OldTrader Rating: (0)
so all in all, using the lotus stuff, minus the cost of the engine. how much would a california smog legal swap be?
PseudoKirby is offline  
post #31 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 00:58
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 157
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouky View Post
sorry, this will never legitimately pass california emissions with a manual transmission. Only the Lotus ECU solution will be able to do that.

and if you want to use the automatic transmission in your MR2 there's nothing stopping you from passing CA emissions with it right now.

I really don't have any interest in helping people skirt emissions regulations because the EPA is pretty good at ruining the fun for the rest of us if they get pissed off.
i see a 2GR-FKS Tacoma has manual offer by toyota.. and chance?
60to0 is offline  
post #32 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 07:07
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 144
OldTrader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PearlJammzz View Post
What does this mean for people who want the Lotus setup mostly for 7200RPM and eventual SC and could care less about CA emissions (only sniffer where I am at)? Is the Lotus route still the way to go?

Guess I am asking what all the Lotus setup is looking to have vs the Toyota route now that you've cracked the ECU.

And seriously, this is boss. Brilliant work! Not only for the MR2 community but as a whole for anyone looking to swap 2GRs (and maybe eventually other motors...2ARs maybe?) into other vehicles without going standalone.
Me you both mate. May have to sell the bits I've got already!

Great news Marc, well done. Following with great interest! Especially as I've got a 5-plug immobilised ECU sitting here (I bought a new non-immobilised from you for my swap).
monkeyra is offline  
post #33 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 07:15 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 2,921
OldTrader Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 60to0 View Post
i see a 2GR-FKS Tacoma has manual offer by toyota.. and chance?
Unfortunately you're still running into issues with the california regulations there. you can't swap a truck engine into a car and meet CARB regulations.
Gouky is online now  
post #34 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 07:15 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 2,921
OldTrader Rating: (14)
Here it is guys:

-Automatic transmission DTCs removed
-Evap/Cat DTCs removed
-VVTI target angles changed to remove torque tapering off at 6250RPM
-rev limiter raised to 7200RPM

and even better, you can buy it here: Frankenstein Motorworks

I only have 5 ECUs in stock right now, but i'll get more on the way and people will also return cores.

I'm waiting till tomorrow for my conformal coating to arrive before these can ship. that way corrosion isn't an issue where I've soldered onto the board.
Gouky is online now  
post #35 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 07:32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Victorville, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 4,581
OldTrader Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouky View Post
sorry, this will never legitimately pass california emissions with a manual transmission. Only the Lotus ECU solution will be able to do that.

and if you want to use the automatic transmission in your MR2 there's nothing stopping you from passing CA emissions with it right now.

I really don't have any interest in helping people skirt emissions regulations because the EPA is pretty good at ruining the fun for the rest of us if they get pissed off.
You might be able to get by if you say it's a Lotus Evora engine (even though you're using a Toyota ECU). They know Lotus is using Toyota engines.

They don't look at the physical ECU (otherwise a RAV4 ECU would be illegal too). The BAR tech just plugs in an OBDII reader makes sure there's no codes, all readiness monitors are set, and does a very thorough physical inspection. After that it goes on the rollers in Enhanced areas, or a 2-speed idle test is done (in Basic areas).

Technically, my V6 swap isn't CA legal since I'm using the S51 transmission, but you can get by with certain things. They aren't allowed to tear apart anything to inspect things, so if the ECU is covered, they can't remove the cover.

I wouldn't guarantee a pass, of course, because it just depends on area. But, it's very likely to pass if all criteria are met.

Best thing to do is to get a Lotus beauty cover and call it a day. Haha, that'll probably do just fine.

Last edited by Jason.MZW20; May 19th, 2016 at 07:35.
Jason.MZW20 is offline  
post #36 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 07:37 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 2,921
OldTrader Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason.MZW20 View Post
You might be able to get by if you say it's a Lotus Evora engine (even though you're using a Toyota ECU). They know Lotus is using Toyota engines.

They don't look at the physical ECU (otherwise a RAV4 ECU would be illegal too). The BAR tech just plugs in an OBDII reader makes sure there's no codes, all readiness monitors are set, and does a very thorough physical inspection. After that it goes on the rollers in Enhanced areas, or a 2-speed idle test is done (in Basic areas).

Technically, my V6 swap isn't CA legal since I'm using the S51 transmission, but you can get by with certain things. They aren't allowed to tear apart anything to inspect things, so if the ECU is covered, they can't remove the cover.

I wouldn't guarantee a pass, of course, because it just depends on area. But, it's very likely to pass if all criteria are met.

Best thing to do is to get a Lotus beauty cover and call it a day. Haha, that'll probably do just fine.
You'd be more than welcome to try and i'd be happy to make a special ecu just for you guys with the emissions stuff in it but the immobilizer and automatic transmission stuff removed. but i can't guarantee what the readiness monitors will do.
Gouky is online now  
post #37 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 09:27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ashburn, Virginia
Age: 25
Posts: 1,540
OldTrader Rating: (26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouky View Post
-VVTI target angles changed to remove torque tapering off at 6250RPM
What does this mean?
MR2Singh is offline  
post #38 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 09:37 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 2,921
OldTrader Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR2Singh View Post
What does this mean?
the stock VVTI angle tables has a change above 6250 to drop the torque so there's a roll off at the top of the torque curve. since the redline is higher i removed that roll off.

there's now a natural roll off from something else in the engine, probably the exhaust cam duration.
Gouky is online now  
post #39 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 09:38
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Burnaby/Blaine
Age: 37
Posts: 896
OldTrader Rating: (22)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouky View Post

-Automatic transmission DTCs removed
-Evap/Cat DTCs removed
-VVTI target angles changed to remove torque tapering off at 6250RPM
-rev limiter raised to 7200RPM

and even better, you can buy it here: Frankenstein Motorworks
Ah, I was ready to send money, but I have a 2 plug Rav4 ECU. Any idea on a timeline for those ones?
immorality is offline  
post #40 of 604 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2016, 09:42 Thread Starter
Gold Level
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 2,921
OldTrader Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by immorality View Post
Ah, I was ready to send money, but I have a 2 plug Rav4 ECU. Any idea on a timeline for those ones?
I need to get some 2-plug harness pigtails to make an adapter so i can do some testing.

it'll be a few weeks before i can find time to go to a junkyard. if someone can help me quicker than that it would go quicker. I'd also do the ECU changes for free to whoever provides those.
Gouky is online now  
Reply

Tags
2gr-fe

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MR2 Owners Club Message Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: (0 members)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome